Landscape image of the front gates of Domaine Bousquet, with mountains and a blue sky.

Travel

Domaine Bousquet: Pioneering Sustainability in Argentina’s Mendoza Wine Region

October 22, 2019

Written By Jacqueline Coleman, History and Wine

High up in Mendoza’s Uco Valley sits Domaine Bousquet Winery, founded by French winemaker Jean Bousquet. First converted into a winery in the 1990s, many thought he was crazy for trying to convert desert land into a winery. But with a little ingenuity, a family-run operation, and a commitment to creating a sustainable, organic product–anything is possible. Our Coravin Correspondent Jacqueline Coleman of History and Wine profiles the winery’s rise from desert to flowing vineyard.

When Jean Bousquet visited the desolate, high-altitude Gualtallary area in the Tupungato region of Mendoza’s Uco Valley in 1990, he had a vision of creating something that had not existed there before. The land was dry, colder than other regions in Mendoza, and it was virgin territory when it came to any agricultural use. However, none of this deterred the third-generation winemaker from France who had grand plans to turn the barren desert land into a world-class winery that would one day become a pioneering force in the area.

At that time in the 90s, land prices were cheap in the undeveloped parts of Mendoza, so Bousquet decided to buy close to 1,000 acres to turn into a vineyard. No other winemakers had been successful in this area before due to the scarcity of one vital resource: water. The first task that Bousquet set out to complete was to make his land sustainable by digging a well down 495 feet to find a source of water. No simple task, but he was able to complete the well and finally plant vines on his land two years later.

A straw hut in a pond with a scenic view of a large mountain range.

Domaine Bousquet

Many of his friends and colleagues back in France thought he was crazy to buy desert land in an undeveloped part of Mendoza to start a winery where one had not existed before, but Bousquet persisted with a vision of making quality wine in Argentina. He believed that the location was a perfect spot to cultivate grapes that would be a balance between the fresh acidity of French style wine, which would be enriched by the cooler climate closer to the Andes Mountains, along with the ripe, juiciness of Argentine wines, enhanced by the altitude and exposure to sunlight. Gualtallary was exactly this mix, with altitudes of over five thousand feet, and cool winds from the Andes, along with sandy soils, and lots of sunshine. Bousquet had found his piece of wine-growing paradise.

A Generational Commitment to Sustainability

Domaine Bousquet, the winery founded by Bousquet on that barren land, released its first vintage in 2005. At that time, Jean Bousquet had sold off much of the original 988 acres he purchased to continue to fund his winery operations. In 2005, the winery was down to 173 acres, but bottle by bottle with a focus on sustainable practices at every level of the operation, Domaine Bousquet would grow to 667 acres under vine on the estate property and build a modern winery complete with hospitality center and restaurant in just a few years.

Landscape view of grape vine rows and people gathered with a mountain range background.

Domaine Bousquet

This transformation from desert vineyard to world-class destination didn’t happen overnight. When Bouquet’s economist daughter, Anne Bousquet, and her husband, Labid Al Ameri visited the winery during a trip to Argentina in 2002, they felt that they had seen something special and began to invest in the operation. Anne wanted the winery to function on firm principals of sustainability, not just in the grape growing, but in the way that the winery interacted with the community around it. She saw the opportunity for Domaine Bousquet to have a direct impact in creating opportunities for the people and infrastructure of Tupungato. Her dedication to creating a fully sustainable operation at Domaine Bousquet never wavered, and she and her husband moved full-time to Tupungato in 2009, taking full ownership of the winery in 2011.

Anne got down to business ensuring that Domaine Bousquet was producing not only organic fruit, but that the company was investing in the surrounding community and those who worked alongside them to produce quality wines at affordable prices. She joined an alliance of local wineries to build a new road into the area as a way to improve the transportation route of those who lived, worked in, and visited the growing wine region. Anne and Labid provided opportunities for growth within the company for those who were committed to their wines. Her practice of “360 Sustainability” allowed for one employee who started on the bottling line at 18 years old to later become the head of purchasing for the company, and Chef Adrian, who now runs their restaurant, was awarded a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to study and intern in a kitchen in New York City before returning to manage the winery restaurant. The Bousquet way was sustainability all around from the very start.

Organic Grapes & Affordable Wines

“Being organic was never a sales gimmick. Stewardship of the land is a necessity: the land was unspoiled, and we weren’t about to spoil it!” -Anne Bousquet.

All wine made under the Domaine Bousquet label is made from 100% certified organic grapes. The winery is committed to not using pesticides, herbicides, or fertilizers, and consistent gentle handling of all the fruit. There is an organic garden on-site where much of the produce is used in the fresh meals prepared at the winery restaurant. From the very beginning, sustainable, organic practices were part of the plan for the pioneering winery, and now, Domaine Bousquet works with other wineries in the region to help them convert to organic practices as well.

Dinner plate setting with food, a filled wine glass, and a wine bottle, with a landscape view of water.

Domaine Bousquet

What is most impressive is how the winery has taken the very best that the land gives and kept it natural, but also made it affordable for consumers to enjoy the wines. At around $13 a bottle in the U.S. market, wine lovers can enjoy quite a few of these fruit-forward wines made with a French sensibility. The wines at this price are completely unoaked, allowing the vibrant fruit to show clearly, just as the land created it. The winery also produces several premium lines that use low-yield fruit in smaller productions from only estate-grown grapes for extra elegant organic wines.

Over the course of 20 years, Domaine Bousquet has grown from barren desert land into an operation that oversees wines being sold in over 50 countries with 100 full-time employees. This mastery of success is no doubt due to the dedication and commitment that Jean, Anne, Labid, and the Bousquet leadership has to maintain a sustainable operation that respects the land and is good for the community, making Bousquet a true pioneering name in Argentine wine. 


Do you have a favorite Domaine Bousquet wine? We want to know! Share with us on social by tagging @Coravin, @HistoryandWine, and @domainebousquet.

Photo du portail du Domaine Bousquet, avec des montagnes et un ciel bleu.

Voyage

Domaine Bousquet: pionnier du développement durable dans la région viticole de Mendoza en Argentine

October 22, 2019

Écrit par Jacqueline Coleman, Histoire et de Vin

Dans les hauteurs de la vallée Uco de Mendoza se trouve le domaine Bousquet Winery, fondé par le vigneron français Jean Bousquet. D'abord converti en cave dans les années 1990, beaucoup pensaient qu'il était fou d'essayer de convertir des terres désertiques en une cave. Mais avec un peu d'ingéniosité, une entreprise familiale et un engagement à créer un produit biologique durable, tout est possible. Notre correspondante de Coravin, Jacqueline Coleman, chargée de l’histoire et du vin, dresse le portrait de l’ascension de la cave du désert au
vignoble fluide.

Lorsque Jean Bousquet a visité la région désolée en haute altitude de Gualtallary dans la région de Tupungato de la vallée de l’Uco à Mendoza en 1990, il a eu l’idée de créer quelque chose qui n’y existait pas auparavant. La terre était sèche, plus froide que les autres régions de Mendoza, et c'était un territoire vierge quand il s'agissait de toute utilisation agricole. Cependant, rien de tout cela n'a dissuadé le vigneron français de troisième génération qui avait de grands projets pour transformer la terre aride du désert en une cave de classe
mondiale qui deviendrait un jour une force pionnière dans la région.

À cette époque, dans les années 90, les prix des terres étant bon marché dans les parties non développées de Mendoza, Bousquet a décidé d'acheter près de 1000 acres pour se transformer en vignoble. Aucun autre vigneron n'avait réussi dans ce domaine auparavant en raison de la rareté d'une ressource vitale: l'eau. La première tâche que Bousquet entreprit d'accomplir fut de rendre sa terre durable en creusant un puits de 150 mètres pour trouver une source d'eau. Pas une tâche simple, mais il a pu achever le puits et finalement planter des vignes sur ses terres deux ans plus tard.

Une paillote située dans un étang avec une vue panoramique sur une grande chaîne de montagnes.

Domaine Bousquet

Beaucoup de ses amis et collègues de retour en France pensaient qu'il était fou d'acheter des terres désertiques dans une partie non développée de Mendoza pour démarrer une cave où il n'y en avait pas auparavant, mais Bousquet a persisté avec une vision de faire du vin de qualité en Argentine. Il pensait que l'emplacement était un endroit parfait pour cultiver des raisins qui seraient un équilibre entre l'acidité fraîche du vin à la française, qui serait enrichie par le climat plus frais plus proche des Andes, ainsi que la maturité et la jutosité des vins
argentins, renforcée par l'altitude et l'exposition au soleil. Gualtallary était exactement ce mélange, avec des altitudes de plus de 1500 mètres, et des vents frais des Andes, avec des sols sableux et beaucoup de soleil. Bousquet avait trouvé son coin de paradis viticole.

Un engagement générationnel envers la durabilité

Le Domaine Bousquet, la cave fondée par Bousquet sur cette terre aride, a sorti son premier millésime en 2005. À cette époque, Jean Bousquet avait vendu une grande partie des 988 acres d'origine qu'il avait achetés pour continuer à financer ses opérations. En 2005, la cave était réduite à 173 acres, mais bouteille par bouteille avec un focus sur les pratiques durables à tous les niveaux de l'exploitation, le Domaine Bousquet atteignit 667 acres de vignes sur la propriété du domaine et construit une cave moderne avec un centre d'accueil et restaurant en quelques années.

Vue d’un paysage de rangées de vignes et d’un groupe de personnes avec en arrière-plan une chaîne de montagnes.

Domaine Bousquet

Cette transformation d'un vignoble du désert en une destination de classe mondiale ne s'est pas produite du jour au lendemain. Lorsque la fille économiste de Bouquet, Anne Bousquet, et son mari, Labid Al Ameri, ont visité la cave lors d’un voyage en Argentine en 2002, ils ont senti qu’ils avaient vu quelque chose de spécial et ont commencé à investir dans l’opération. Anne voulait que la cave fonctionne sur des principes fermes de durabilité, pas seulement dans la culture du raisin, mais dans la manière dont la cave interagissait avec la communauté autour d'elle. Elle a vu l'opportunité pour le Domaine Bousquet d'avoir un impact direct en créant des opportunités pour les gens et les infrastructures de Tupungato. Son engagement à créer une exploitation entièrement durable au Domaine Bousquet n'a jamais faibli et elle et son mari ont déménagé à temps plein à Tupungato en 2009, prenant la pleine propriété de la cave en 2011.

Anne s'est mise au travail en s'assurant que le Domaine Bousquet ne produisait pas seulement des fruits biologiques, mais que l'entreprise investissait dans la communauté environnante et ceux qui travaillaient à leurs côtés pour produire des vins de qualité à des prix abordables. Elle a rejoint une alliance de vignobles locaux pour construire une nouvelle route dans la région afin d'améliorer l'itinéraire de transport de ceux qui ont vécu, travaillé et visité la région viticole en pleine croissance. Anne et Labid ont offert des opportunités de croissance au sein de l'entreprise à ceux qui étaient engagés dans leurs vins. Sa pratique de «360 Sustainability» a permis à un employé qui a commencé sur la ligne d'embouteillage à 18 ans de devenir plus tard le chef des achats de l'entreprise, et le chef Adrian, qui dirige maintenant leur restaurant, a reçu un prix unique. - l'opportunité d'étudier à vie et de faire un stage dans une cuisine à New York avant de retourner gérer le restaurant de la cave. La voie Bousquet était la durabilité tout autour depuis le tout début.

Raisins biologiques et vins abordables

« Être bio n'a jamais été un gadget de vente. L'intendance de la terre est une nécessité : la terre était intacte et nous n'allions pas la gâter ! » -Anne Bousquet.

Tous les vins élaborés sous le label Domaine Bousquet sont issus de raisins 100% certifiés biologiques. La cave s'engage à ne pas utiliser de pesticides, d'herbicides ou d'engrais et à une manipulation douce et constante de tous les fruits. Il y a un jardin biologique sur place où une grande partie des produits est utilisée dans les repas frais préparés au restaurant de la cave. Dès le début, les pratiques biologiques durables faisaient partie du plan de la cave pionnière, et maintenant, le Domaine Bousquet travaille avec d'autres vignobles de la région pour les aider à se convertir également aux pratiques biologiques.

Une assiette dressée, un verre de vin rempli et une bouteille de vin, avec une vue sur un paysage et de l’eau.

Domaine Bousquet

Ce qui est le plus impressionnant, c'est la façon dont la cave a pris le meilleur de ce que la terre donne et l'a gardée naturelle, mais a également rendu abordable pour les consommateurs la dégustation des vins. À environ 13 $ la bouteille sur le marché américain, les amateurs de vin peuvent déguster un bon nombre de ces vins fruités élaborés avec une sensibilité française. Les vins à ce prix sont totalement non boisés, ce qui permet au fruit vibrant de se montrer clairement, tout comme la terre l'a créé. La cave produit également plusieurs lignes haut de gamme qui utilisent des fruits à faible rendement dans des productions plus petites à partir de raisins du domaine uniquement pour des vins biologiques
très élégants.

En 20 ans, le Domaine Bousquet est passé d'une terre désertique aride à une entreprise qui
supervise la vente de vins dans plus de 50 pays avec 100 employés à temps plein. Cette maîtrise du succès est sans doute due au dévouement et à l'engagement de Jean, Anne, Labid et la direction de Bousquet pour maintenir une opération durable, respectueuse de la terre et bonne pour la communauté, faisant de Bousquet un véritable nom pionnier du vin argentin. .

Avez-vous un vin du Domaine Bousquet préféré? Nous voulons savoir! Partagez avec nous sur les réseaux sociaux en taguant @Coravin, @HistoryandWine et @domainebousquet